Cobh Reach First East Cork Final in 29 Years 2014-08-14 23:13:00

East Cork Junior A Hurling Championship
Jamesey Kelleher Cup


Cobh 3-05
Carraig na bhFear 1-08

Cobh went into the game against the 2012 champions off the back of a good win in their quarter-final against last years semi-finalist Midleton who fielded a strong side including Cork U21 Cormac Walsh. Cobh and Carraig had already met in the league with the opposition beating a some what weakened Cobh team by four points.

With poor conditions and a hard, slippy playing surface it was far from a good night for hurling as the ball was thrown in. It was a slow start for Cobh who conceded two points in the opening minutes before Cian Spriggs opened the scoring with a great individual goal on the fifth minute. A free from Adam McCarthy left Cobh leading by two after ten minutes however the game was very scrappy with players struggling to cope with the hard slippy surface. Carraig na bhFear man Paul Murphy was struggling to gain possession of the ball and despite all the ball he was fed, it was clear that their match winner was well marshalled by Cobh corner back Kieran Histon, who was tasked to man mark Carraig's danger man. Cobh grabbed another goal on thirteen minutes after poor control of a high ball by the Carraig keeper saw a scramble for the ball end with Aidan O’Rourke putting the ball in the net, the scoreboard now showing 2-01 to 0-02. Carraig added another two points before Cian Spriggs grabbed one back for Cobh. A seven minute scoreless period ended as halftime approached with another goal, this time Darragh Kelleher pulling first time on the ball to find the net. Carraig followed this with a point to leave them trailing Cobh by six points at the interval, 3-02 to 0-05. Despite the lead it was a poor opening half from both teams with the weather playing no small part in this.

As the second half began the weather was deteriorating rapidly and the light fading. It took nine minutes before a score was found a point coming from the stick of a Carraig man. Cobh were struggling to find a score over half way through the second half and it was clear players were beginning to tire, the first of Cobh’s three substitutions were made Adam McCarthy making way for Tomas McGrath. Carraig snuck a goal after a communication error in around the goal saw a high ball slip past the post and rattle the net. Carraig followed the gaol up with a point and the margin was back to the minimum. Cobh made another change with the introduction of Jack Ronan in place of Conor McLoughlin which saw some positional changes made also. Cobh increase their cushion again with a point from the stick of Aidan O’Rourke but Carraig responded with a point a minute later to bring them back to within one. Conor farrell was then introduced in place of Jamie Moynihan. The first minute of added time saw Cian Spriggs step up to his first paced ball of the game and calmly slot it over the bar as the rest of the rest of the Cobh camp looked on nervously. Spriggs followed this up a minute later with another free to leave the scoreboard showing Cobh 3-05, Carraig na bhFear 1-08. It was a nervous finish for Cobh with the referee playing six minutes over the sixty, however they held out to claim a three point victory.

The other side of the draw sees Castlemartyr take on Sarsfields on the 22nd August, this game delayed due to Castlemartyr man Brian Lawton’s involvement with the Cork Senior team. Should Cork lose on Sunday the final, Cobh’s first since 1985, will take place on the 31st August, however a Cork win followed by a Castlemartyr win will see the final delayed until the conclusion of the All Ireland Hurling Final.

Cobh Team: Eddy Walsh, Rory O’Connell, Seamus Ryan, Kieran Histon, Martin O’Connor, Allen Walley(Captain), Liam Greaney, Conor McLoughlin, Jamie Moynihan, Brian Aherne, Lee Murphy, Darragh Kelleher, Aidan O’Rourke, Cian Spriggs, Adam McCarthy.

Subs for Cobh: Thomas McGrath for Adam McCarthy, Jack Ronan for Conor McLoughlin, Conor Farrell for Jamie Moynihan.

Scorers for Cobh: Cian Spriggs 1-03(2f), Aidan O’Rourke 1-01, Darragh Kelleher 1-00, Adam McCarthy 0-01(f)

Back to top